Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music

Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music

MindyGledhill_Anchor_COVER[1]

Music is like poetry sung in a harmonious string of sounds, with each melody dripping sweet like honey. It speaks to me, whether it has words or not. I, personally, like listening to softer tunes of music, songs that sound like lullabies. I use music as a getaway from the real world. I place myself in the musician’s point of view and try to truly understand the lyrics. But sometimes music is more about lyrics. Sometimes it’s about the melody and how the sounds themselves make you feel.

Sure, normal teenagers my age like listening to artists like Eminem or Katy Perry nowadays, but I am actually a fan of someone else. One singer that is truly under looked in pop culture is Mindy Gledhill. Her songs are just beautiful. If I had to describe them in one word, I’d call them that–beautiful. I came across her music from the background songs of other Youtube videos. Her voice is sweet and soft, and the sound of her songs just make me feel warm and happy inside, as if I just swallowed a bucket full of butterflies.

Her cute, calm voice reminds me of my childhood, and I just can’t stop smiling when I listen to her songs. She doesn’t often have music videos, but just listening to her sing, I can imagine a bright, sunny landscape of grassy hills and little children eating cotton candy and dancing around a playground. Is that weird? Her dreamy, iridescent voice soothes me and I can listen to her songs on replay non-stop. Her voice is just so fresh and calming and dainty and adorable–all at once! She is seriously deserves more attention!

Here are some of my absolute favorites of hers:

All the Pennies http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvLRDhYGtuc

Whole Wide World 

I Do Adore http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nv2XRdXmjMo

I hope you like her as much as I do! I am seriously moved to happiness by her voice!

-Kat(:

6 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music

  1. ” Her voice is sweet and soft, and the sound of her songs just make me feel warm and happy inside, as if I just swallowed a bucket full of butterflies.” Is that how the butterflies get in our stomachs? Nice post. Will listen now!

Leave a Reply

