A Gradual New ME

sciencedaily.com
sciencedaily.com

When I hear “Brand New,” I immediately think: Drastically different. Changed. Gone with the old and in with the new. Completely transformed, either in a good or bad way. There’s no way of telling if the new is better than the old. “New” seems almost frightening. The change seems sudden, as if one moment you’re yourself and another, you’re someone else completely. But what if I don’t want to be someone else, at least not right away?

At this moment in my life, I feel satisfied with who I am. I wouldn’t change a single thing about myself–not my flaws and faults or my strengths and talents. For my ups and my downs are all a part of me. If I changed something about myself, and the change didn’t feel right or comfortable–it could be anything from my personality to my hairstyle–I wouldn’t be staying true to myself.

Of course, everyone and everything can be improved in some aspect or another. And some of these changes could be small and temporary, like changing a hair color to make a statement. Others could be more risky but monumental, like dropping everything to follow your dreams and become a musician. But as long as these changes feel right, change could lead you to a better place. Overall, change is usually a decision made by one person and one person only: you.

Some resolutions to myself in becoming A Gradual New ME:

  • Love what you do and do what you love.
  • Don’t be afraid of change.
  • Prioritize.
  • Try your best at whatever you do.
  • Do what you want, not what others want you to do.
  • Follow your dreams.
  • Think optimistically.
  • Don’t be selfish.

Happy New Year!

-Kat(:

6 thoughts on “A Gradual New ME

Leave a Reply

