Teaching English: A Shared Journey

Today is my last day of teaching English in China. It’s been a long month with lots of ups and downs and I think it’s time to look back on the experience as a whole.

Throughout the month, I’ve learned a lot about working with people. And let me tell you, working with people – whether it was with teachers, students, or parents – is not easy. I’ve had to deal with teachers who didn’t like my teaching style and even one who canceled my class to better fit her own schedule. That was when I learned to fight back and voice what I wanted, with partial success. I had to make sure the parents were satisfied and that their children were happy.

And the students. I had classes with students who were forced to learn English by their parents and who did not want to be there. I had two students fall asleep on me (I promptly embarrassed them by calling on them to answer a question). Other students were constantly jumping out of their seats and could not quiet down. Others would not speak up. I got all of these types of students and more.

Above it all, I had to make sure that the students were learning something from me. I had to keep them engaged and responsive.

And all while the students were learning English, I was learning how to teach English. It was a shared learning experience – a shared journey.

Kat

Discover Challenge

2 thoughts on “Teaching English: A Shared Journey

  1. What a journey to have shared . I have been in many places where English was scarce. When a soldier deploys we think about ways to signal the natives for a common understanding. I also live in a city close to the Mexican border where English is scarce. My stubbornness gets in the way along with my pride to learn spanish. Although I find it more in my best interest to figure out a way to learn. I struggle to sind someone capable of teaching me the language for my style of learning. I bet for you, this was a great experience to learn and to teach all at the same time.
    –Justin Hewitt

Leave a Reply

