Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

Weekly Photo Challenge: EerieWeekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

Eerie places do not necessarily have to be surreal or ghostly, rather they can be found in the deepest parts of nature itself. Back in the summer of 2012, I took a trip to eastern China and took a hike up the 三清山 mountains. The heavy fog and the looming mountains created a sensation of eeriness. The fog hid entire mountaintops, and ahead I could only a ghostly curtain of white blurring the trees and rocks. The silence was eerie, and I had only the chirps of birds and screeches of the cicadas for company. The wildlife could be heard, but not seen. With the wobbly stepping stones as guidance, I walked on to explore the depths of the mountains. Eeriness can be both mysterious and beautiful, like the fog veiling these mountains.


16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

  1. I’d never heard of the San Qing mountains. They look really beautiful and tranquil, very similar to Huang Shan but without as many tourists. I’ll have to put them on my list of places to check out!

Leave a comment